November 5, 2006

Finished Object- Black Sea Hat

Posted in Gallery at 8:12 pm by Melanie

Well, it’s done.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Rather cute.  I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s not a totally warm winter hat- I need my next knitted hat to come down over my ears.  BUT… I had so much fun knitting this hat.  I’m planning on making two more for Christmas for my friends Nicole & Sara.  I have some black rowan 4 ply from my old secret pal Nic that I’ve never quite found the use for. They’ll be so cute in matching black sea hats! (This is all stated, of course, in a perfect world where I get all the time for knitting Christmas gifts that I want to. HA!) 

This hat cost me QUITE a bit of money to make. 

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Here are the supplies at the beginning.  $4.00 for beads.  $7.95 for yarn.  $15 for addis 16″ size 3.  $24 for 16″ ebony lantern moon needles.  They were out of plastic, bamboo, or addi’s 16″ size 4.  For $24.00 I was not throughly impressed.  Actually I hated them.  I might have liked them better if the needles were just a bit shorter.  There was a little too much effort that went into knitting every stitch and constantly moving stitches around the needles.  What a waste. 

Anyway, Stats:

What: Black Sea Hat from Gumperina.
Started: Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Finished: Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino
Needles: size 3, 16″ addis; size 4, 16″ ebony bamboo latern moons; size 4, and 7″ clover DPNS.
Lesson: How to knit with beads.  Not anywhere near as hard as I thought, but somewhat tricky.  The only tricky part was getting it through the knit stitch.  I had a lot of fun doing them.  Next I think I’d like to use tiny beads on lace weight.  I’m sure it’d be stunning. 🙂
Recipient: Me.  It’s actually quite a “short” hat.  Next one will have to be a bit “taller” to cover the wearer’s ears completely.
Knitting Time: 7 hours
Pattern Changes: None.  I knitted it exactly as it was designed.  It was written and executed beautifully.
Fun, huh?  You want your own don’t you?

4 Comments »

  1. Christine said,

    Beautiful!!

  2. Ruinwen said,

    Really lovely! The beads really set it off!

    Ruinwen
    🙂

  3. Melanie said,

    It’s great! I love it,Nice job 🙂

  4. MJ said,

    Love the sea hat…and Zander is such a good model 🙂


Leave a Reply

