November 12, 2006

Cables & Ribs

Posted in Socks at 9:32 pm by Melanie

After my disappointment with two cabled sweaters right in a row (Demi & Hush) I still needed some cables to make me feel like a competant knitter.  I ditched the leaves idea for the socks and went with Rib & Cable Socks from Fall 2005 Interweave Knits.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Edited to add:  I just noticed the huge white light reflection in the right hand side of this picture.  I’m not sure if it’s from my pasty white skin or from the reflection of the addis. ha ha.

Here is a truer picture of the colors and a closer view of the cables:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I also learned to cable with a needle thanks to Grumperina’s tutorial.  May I just take a moment to just say how wonderful cabling without a needle is.  Now, it might not be that much faster and is actually a little scarier (I did drop a stitch once during the leg of this sock) it is much more convienient than fighting with that damned cable needle.  My issue was always what to do with the cable needle on the inbetween rows.  If I put it away I’d inevitabley curse at myself next time I had to dig through my bag.  If I put it down next to me I’d loose it in a seat cushion.  If I stuck it in the project it continued to annoy me  and get in my way on ALL rows, not just the cabled rows.  If I stuck it in my ball of yarn it’d never fail that I’d end up pinning the yarn in the ball.  So yeah, if that’s you… go learn to cable without a needle.  It only takes a moment! 🙂

5 Comments »

  1. tiennie said,

    Very cool! You just cruised through that sock!

  2. Ruinwen said,

    Wow! That sock looks great! Congrats on learning to cable without a needle!

    Ruinwen
    )

  3. Kris said,

    Pretty socks! And in an answer to your question, yes, I’m insane, that is rayon thread with the beads. It’s about the same as laceweight, though.

  4. MJ said,

    Great job!
    you are a great knitter!!
    give yourself a pat on the back!!

  5. Christine said,

    Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

