November 13, 2006

To Rip or Not to rip- HELLLLP!!

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:45 pm by Melanie

Okay, so I got the measurements for my sister’s feet.  She is 13″ around the calf, 8.75″ around the ankle; and 10″ from heel to toe.

 Normally I wouldn’t fret over these so much.  It is JUST a pair of socks, afterall.  But it’s also my sister.  And God love her, she’s the only sister I have, but she’s SOOO damn picky.  If something isn’t exactly what she wants it’s not good enough.  Some would consider this snobby, or even bitchy, but after having her around for 22 years I’ve just gotten used to it and accepted it as the way she is, and even admire her for it sometimes.  She’ll never settle for anything.  That said I am completly torn on these socks.  I think as I write this I know the inevitable answer, but I’ll go through the rest of my question anyway.

 Right now when I put these socks on they are 11″ around the calf.  Which would make them 11″ around the ankle also.  Would that be too much sag?  Could I just decrease?  Would it look silly?  I think I know that I need to rip but then what size do I make them exactly?  9″?  Would that stretch to accomodate her calves?  Is there an all over ribbing that I could make that would make them stretchier?

 Opinions?!  Thanks!

4 Comments »

  1. Christine said,

    No idea… I just didnt want you to think I was skipping over this post.

    Things will work out… just dont rip until it’s been confirmed that.. that is indeed what needs to happen.

  2. tiennie said,

    M – I’ve only made 4 pairs of socks and none have been like the one you’ve made so I have no advice. I’m sorry! I think they do look pretty though.

  3. Melanie said,

    I think you might need to frog it. I’m having the same dilema except I’m knitting from the toe up. The foot was too small (width wise) and so I increased(K1TFB every other row) and you can REALLY see it.
    Although,You could always try decreasing and see if it would fit.
    As for rib I like the garter rib.
    Round 1:K2P2
    Round 2: Knit
    Repeat
    Or Elongated Corded Rib
    Rounds 1 & 2:K2 P2
    Round 3:*SSK,YO,P2,rep from*
    Round 4,5,6:*k2 P2,rep from *
    Round 7:*YO,K2tog,P2,rep from *
    Round 8:*K2 P2,rep from *
    (these patterns are from Sensational Knitted Socks)

    I would have sent this in email but my message bounced back.

    BTW,I found a SNB on Thursdays at the Florence B&N on mall road. I’m thinking of joining.You should too!

  4. Ruinwen said,

    I too didn’t want you to think I skipped this post…but I have no idea. Sorry.

    I hope you don’t have to rip.

    Ruinwen
    🙂


Leave a Reply

